Making sense of my photography hobby in retirement

My Auckland

For most of my life I have lived on the North Shore of Auckland.  I attended university in Auckland and worked in the city for nearly all of my working life. But the North Shore is my home.

This morning I visited North Head, a headland in Devonport on the north shore of the Waitemata Harbour, around which all shipping entering the harbour must pass.  I was there to  photograph a car that I’m selling for one of my sons.  Having completed that duty I went to one of my favourite viewing areas which looks across Devonport to New Zealand’s largest city. There is a distinct contrast between the village nature of tranquil Devonport and the hustle and bustle of corporate Auckland City and its iconic Sky Tower. Tourists visiting Auckland “escape” to Devonport to browse the galleries, antiquarian bookshops and to sample the offerings of an eclectic choice of cafes.

I captured this image at about 8.30 am, at the start of a beautiful hot summer’s day.

Sony Alpha DSLR – A200, 1/250 sec, F11, ISO 100, Sigma DC 18-200mm lens at 60mm

Home

2 responses

  1. Lovely Image
    If you have the time, check out my blog or even:
    skunksblog.wordpress.com/2010/09/23/lazy-weekend-in-devonport/

    Devonport is such a beautiful place!

    September 27, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    • Thanks for comment. Have had a look at your blog post as suggested. You have some nice images that capture the character of the place.

      September 27, 2010 at 5:18 pm

Leave a Reply

