Making sense of my photography hobby in retirement

Eight in Line

Eight in Line

Taken in Melbourne, Victoria in 2009 from a bridge crossing the Yarra River.  This image has been worked on in Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 3 using the ethos outlined in David duChemin’s book Vision & Voice – Redefining your Vision in Adobe Photoshop Lightroom. David asks the question “How did it feel?”

The photograph presented itself quite by chance.  After work rowers were on the river training as the sun lowered itself to the horizon.  I saw them coming towards me and the idea of capturing them in silhouette occurred to me.  As the rowers came through the sunlight reflected off the water the moment arrived.  Straight out of the camera the image seemed pretty good. However, but a bit of work with the blacks, exposure, highlight recovery and enhancement of the blue of the bow canvas and yellow of the oar blades brought the image to how I remembered it and “how it felt”.

I have been reworking some of my photographs since reading the book and feel that I am now starting to get more mood from the images than previously.

Leave a Reply

