Peeling, Faded & Abandoned
The town of Lawrence in Central Otago has a colourful history that stretches back to when gold was discovered in nearby Gabriel’s Gully by Gabriel Read in 1861. Today it is a small rural town on State Highway 8 from Dunedin to Queenstown.
Glimpses of glories past can be seen in the heritage buildings dotted around the town, from the two grand white churches on the ridge overlooking the main road, to the derelict old convent school opposite the Gothic-style St Patrick’s Catholic Church on Colonsay Street.
The old convent school is showing its age. Unpainted and unused for years, this old lady has a bent back and a tattered petticoat. There are plans to restore the building by its overseas owners, but in the meantime it broods over the town waiting to be returned to its former glory.
Other parts of the town are also a bit ragged at the edges, but the locals are proud of their heritage and the main street presents a pleasant view to motorists at they journey onward to their destinations. Lawrence boasts free broadband internet available to all visitors to entice them to stop to visit the local cafes and craft shops.
Happy to report that we have been lucky enough to receive 50% funding from the NZ Historic Places Trust towards restoration of the main roof of St Patrick’s Church School and Hall. Work will commence early 2013. Long overdue but we’re making progress : )
Nina and Frank (owners)
September 6, 2012 at 9:28 am
Great news. Good luck with progress on your project.
September 6, 2012 at 11:53 am