Making sense of my photography hobby in retirement

Corsets

I am presently reading “The Genius of Photography” by Gerry Badger, the book of the 2007 BBC TV series of the same name.  In the prelude to Chapter 2 the following photograph, which was taken in 1912 by French photographer Eugene Atget, reminded me of one I took in Istanbul, Turkey in 2006.

Eugene Atget - Corsets, Boulevard de Strasbourg 1912

Boulevard de Strasbourg, Corsets, Paris 1912 – Eugene Atget (1857-1927)

Atget built up a large portfolio of documentary photographs of Paris during a period of great change.  The importance of his collection was only recognised much later.  I doubt that my single image taken in a back street in Istanbul will carry the same gravitas in years to come!

Corsets, Istanbul, Turkey, Copyright Chris Gregory 2013

Istiklal Cadesi, Corsets, Istanbul 2006 – Chris Gregory (19xx-Stll Here)

Corsets, Istanbul, Turkey, copyright Chris Gregory 2013

Istiklal Cadesi, Corsets, Istanbul 2006 – Chris Gregory (Original colour version)

2 responses

  1. Love the post! How do you like the book?

    January 22, 2013 at 2:13 am

    • Hi Tina, Thanks for your comment. I like the book a lot. Its given me a greater appreciation of where the craft and art of photography has come from over the years. Not only does it give the history of photography and the character(s) of its key players, it also gives context to some of the most iconic images taken over the years. I had previously watched the TV series which can be found on Youtube (http://www.youtube.com/user/GeniusOfPhotography/videos?view=1) but my son who is studying photography at university recommended the book as a great backgrounder to the TV programs. Both the series and the book are recommended for anyone who wants to have a deeper understanding of their art/craft. I got my copy through Amazon UK as it was not available in the bookshops here in NZ. Cheers, Chris G

      January 22, 2013 at 7:53 am

Leave a Reply

